Which Way?

As I continue to read Desire of Ages, I am more deeply moved each time I see the demonstration of Jesus’ love for sinful man. In the midst of persecution and betrayal Jesus continued to shed light and opportunity to those around him including Judas, Pilate, and King Herod.

Below are a couple paragraphs that shake me to the core when I ponder whether I am determining my own destiny or whether I am allowing Jesus to lead my life.

Pilate longed to deliver Jesus. But he saw that he could not do this, and yet retain his own position and honor. Rather than lose his worldly power, he chose to sacrifice an innocent life. How many, to escape loss or suffering, in like manner sacrifice principle. Conscience and duty point one way, and self-interest points another. The current sets strongly in the wrong direction, and he who compromises with evil is swept away into the thick darkness of guilt.

Pilate yielded to the demands of the mob. Rather than risk losing his position, he delivered Jesus up to be crucified. But in spite of his precautions, the very thing he dreaded afterward came upon him. His honors were stripped from him, he was cast down from his high office, and, stung by remorse and wounded pride, not long after the crucifixion he ended his own life. So all who compromise with sin will gain only sorrow and ruin. “There is a way which seemeth right unto a man, but the end thereof are the ways of death.” Prov. 14:12.
~Desire of Ages – Chapter 77 – Page 738

As I contemplate the weight of the described scene and results, I truly don’t know what to say or how to finish this blog post because I know that I will face these types of principled decisions or forks in the road and I pray that I will be close enough to Jesus to know His voice and follow Him.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

